24 September 2019 to 25 September 2019
La Bellone
Imaginaries of Ecology

Imaginaries of Ecology
Art and Activism in Times of Climate Change

In response to more than six months of student mobilization in the streets of Brussels and elsewhere, CIFAS is taking up the ecological issue to bring the debate and confront the strategies and tools of art with the challenges of social struggles.

During two days, between conferences, discussions and practical workshops, we will try to understand and experiment with different modalities of artistic activity directly related to climate mobilizations.

Ecology is not just about carbon levels or rising sea levels, and mobilization is not just a matter of thoughtful collective awareness. It is also a major project to invent an imaginary world to find ways of mutual aid and cooperation among living beings.

Scientific data have long been available and freely accessible, actions to be undertaken are known, listed and widely documented. Nevertheless, we resist the change that seems too difficult to reach for our tiny lives, as if our imaginations have difficulties to imagine another possible world, more responsible, more attentive to our human nature.

If modern narratives seem to implode with the Anthropocene, if the announcement of the approaching end of the world colours our struggles with bitterness, how to tell other stories, how to invent joyful struggles, social solidarity relationships, utopias in action?

With Clémence Hallé (FR), Barbara Glowczewski (FR), Nidala Barker (AU), John Jordan and Isabelle Frémeaux (FR), Maria Lucia Cruz Correia – Urban Action Clinic (BE), Extinction Rebellion (BE), Desvio Colectivo (BR)…

Horaire

Tuesday 24.09
10h00 > 12h30 Seminars imaginaries of Ecology, with Barbara Glowczewski, Nidala Barker (AU) and Clémence Hallé, moderated by Aysegul Sert
13h30 > 18h00 Workshops with Urban Action Clinic and Desvio Colectivo
19h00 > 21h00 Conference John Jordan and Isabelle Fremeaux

Wednesday 25.09
10h00 > 18h00 The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination


Soon more information here!

Free of charge
Subscription
Depending on the activity, in French or English
Inscriptions
 
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

24 Septembre 2019 > 25 Septembre 2019
La Bellone
Imaginaires de l'écologie

Imaginaires de l’écologie
Art et activisme en période d’agitation climatique


En écho à de plus de six mois de mobilisations estudiantines dans les rues de Bruxelles et d’ailleurs, le CIFAS s’empare de la question écologique pour porter le débat et confronter les stratégies et outils de l’art aux enjeux des combats sociaux.

Durant deux jours intenses, entre conférences, discussions et ateliers pratiques nous tenterons de comprendre et d’expérimenter différentes modalités de l’activité artistique en lien direct avec les mobilisations en faveur du climat.
Car l’écologie n’est pas qu’une affaire de taux de carbone ou d’augmentation du niveau moyen des océans, et la mobilisation ne nait pas uniquement d’une prise de conscience réflexive. Elle est aussi un grand chantier d’invention d’un imaginaire pour trouver des chemins d’entraide et de coopération à l’intérieur du vivant.

Les données scientifiques sont depuis longtemps disponibles et en accès libre, les actions à entreprendre sont connues, répertoriées, largement documentées. Malgré cela, nous résistons au changement qui semble si hors de portée de nos vies minuscules, comme si nos imaginaires peinaient à se représenter un autre monde possible, plus responsable, plus attentif à notre nature d’humain.

Si les narrations modernes semblent imploser avec l'Anthropocène, si l’annonce de l’approche de la fin du monde teinte nos combats d’amertume, comment raconter d'autres histoires, inventer des luttes joyeuses, des rapports sociaux solidaires, des utopies en acte ?

Avec Clémence Hallé (FR), Barbara Glowczewski (FR), Nidala Barker (AU), John Jordan et Isabelle Frémeaux (FR), Maria Lucia Cruz Correia – Urban Action Clinic (BE), Extinction Rebellion (BE), Desvio Colectivo (BR)…

Horaire

Mardi 24.09
10h00 > 12h30 Séminaire Imaginaires de l’écologie, avec Barbara Glowczewski, Nidala Barker (AU) et Clémence Hallé, animé par Aysegul Sert
13h30 > 18h00 Ateliers avc Urban Action Clinic et Desvio Colectivo
19h00 > 21h00 Conférence John Jordan et Isabelle Fremeaux

Mercredi 25.09
10h00 > 18h00 Laboratoire d’imagination insurrectionnelle


Plus d'informations bientôt!

Gratuit
Sur inscription
Selon les modules, en français ou en anglais
Inscriptions
 
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: