La Tricoterie / Saint-Gilles
Conférence ACT

This conference will look back over the last four years of the network's activities in the frame of the cooperation project IN SITU ACT supported by the European Commission, giving a glimpse of artists’ journeys to reclaim public space. 

COVID19
Facing the crisis linked to the spreading of Covid-19, CIFAS has decided to suspend all its activities planned until the summer. We are exploring alternatives to make them happen, more information will come soon.
Thank you in advance for your understanding.
Take care of yourself, your relatives and your neighbours, we hope that we can all take this opportunity to reflect upon the world we want for tomorrow.


On the menu: insights into new ways of developing artist-organiser relationship models, case studies illustrating the links between artistic creation in public space and the civil society, thematic speeches on sustainability, audience development and education, a performance by the IN SITU artist Benjamin Vandewalle, and many more opportunities to dive into artistic creation in public space!

Master of ceremony, Chrissie Faniadis, director of EUNIA (Sweden) will lead the conference.

Participation at the conference is free but registration is compulsory (see below).

Programme

09:30 - 13:00

Opening Speeches
-> Representatives of the European Commission, CIFAS and IN SITU

Artistic creation and European cultural policies
The conference will start with an overview of what is at stake today when it comes to European cultural policies, and how artistic creation and societal challenges are intertwined.
-> Keynote by Hannes Heide, Member of the European Parliament, Member of the Committee on Culture and Education, former Mayor of Bad Ischl, European Capital of Culture in Austria in 2024

“Artistic Acupunctures”, a dialogue with the civil society
What is happening when you let nine artists explore nine European places, asking them to respond to social, cultural and urban local issues? This session will highlight three examples of “Artistic Acupuncture”, an experimental concept of artistic research.
-> Case studies moderated by Herman Bashiron Mendolicchio, researcher and writer (Spain) with Danae Theodoridou, performance maker and researcher (Greece) & Werner Schrempf, director of La Strada Graz (Austria), Joanne Leighton, choreographer & director of the dance company WLDN (Belgium/Australia) & Kees Lesuis, artistic director of Oerol Festival (The Netherlands), Morten Traavik, film and theatre maker (Norway) & Florent Mehmeti, director of ODA Teatri (Kosovo)

How to connect art and sustainability?
While we see numerous hot-topics emerge, questioning the relationship or even the responsibility that art should have in an evolution towards an inclusive and environmental-friendly society, where do artists and organisers stand? How to foster a holistic approach that can really make a difference?
-> Keynote by Thomas Lamers, dramaturg and philosopher from Collectief Walden (The Netherlands)

13:00 - 15:00- Lunchbreak

Performance Studio Cité* by Benjamin Vandewalle (Belgium)
How do you observe your environment and the people within it? And do you dare and surrender yourselves to new perspectives? Come to Studio Cité, an artistic funfair that offers unexpected experiences on Brussels’ squares!
Place de Bethléem, 1060 Saint-Gilles, Brussels – 13h-19h – Thursday 23rd of April 2020
And also Place Saint Gilles, 1060 Saint-Gilles, Brussels – 13h-19h – Friday 24th of April 2020

15:00 - 18:00 Afternoon

Implementing a contextual project
Implementing site-sensitive and site responsive artistic projects requires time, in-depth understanding of a context and mutual sharing. In this session, we will explore examples of long-lasting collaborations between an artist, an organiser and a context.
-> Sharing of experience moderated by Jay Wahl, producing artistic director at Kimmel Center (USA) with Ambrus Ivanyos, film and theatre maker, co-founder of MeetLab collective (Hungary) & Fanni Nánay, director of Artopolis Association (Hungary), Florent Bergal, performer and co-founder of Collectif G. Bistaki (France) & James Moore, curator-producer for Østfold Internasjonale Teater (Norway), Salomé Mooij (The Netherlands), theatre maker and performer & Trevor Davies, co-director of Københavns Internationale Teater (Denmark)

The MOOC “Create in public space”
What is public space? Why do artists choose to work in unconventional places? How do they use these spaces around the world? Many questions answered in the Massive Open Online Course "Create in public space", the first of its kind at a European level.
-> Sharing of experience by Jean-Sébastien Steil, director of FAI-AR (France)

Involving the audience
How to connect with the inhabitants? How do you include the reaction of the audience in your creation process? Several IN SITU artists will share their way of working, involving, embedding, relating with the audience.
-> Sharing of experience moderated by Linda di Pietro, artistic director of Indisciplinarte (Italy) with Floriane Facchini, performer (Italy), Marcelo Sánchez-Camus, creative practitioner (The United Kingdom), Seth Honnor, artistic director of Kaleider (The United Kingdom)

18:00 - 20:00 Closing Drinks 

Studio Cité, an IN SITU Pilot project, has received a creation aid by the ACT project, co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union. The co-producers are Atelier 231 (FR), Festival di Terni (IT), Freedom Festival (UK), La Strada Graz (AT), Lieux publics (FR), Norfolk & Norwich Festival (UK), Østfold Internasjonale Teater (NO), Oerol Festival (NL), Theater op de Markt (BE), UZ Arts (UK).

Practical information

Participation at the conference is free but registration is compulsory.

Subscribe directly on In Situ website.

If you want to have lunch at La Tricoterie, reservations must be booked in advance (until Friday, 10 April 2020). The confirmation email that you receive after you have filled out the registration form will contain the link to book your lunch.


In partnership with CIFAS, International Centre for Training in the Performing Arts. With kind support of Kaaiteater.
ACT 2016 - 2020 is co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

La Tricoterie / Saint-Gilles
CONFÉRENCE IN SITU ACT

Cette conférence sera l'occasion de se pencher sur les activités du réseau au cours des quatre dernières années dans le cadre du projet de coopération IN SITU ACT.

COVID19
Face à la crise liée à la propagation du Covid-19, le CIFAS a décidé de suspendre ses évènements prévus jusqu’à l’été. Nous réfléchissons à des manières de les faire exister autrement, plus d’informations suivront.
Nous vous remercions d’avance pour votre compréhesion.
Prenez bien soin de vous, de vos proches et de vos voisins, en espérant que nous puissions toutes et tous prendre ce temps pour réfléchir au monde que nous voulons pour demain.


Au menu : éclairages sur les nouvelles manières de développer des relations entre artistes et organisateurs, études de cas illustrant les liens entre la création artistique dans l'espace public et la société civile, discours thématiques sur la durabilité, le développement du public et l'éducation, performance de l'artiste IN SITU Benjamin Vandewalle, et bien d'autres occasions de réfléchir à la création artistique dans l'espace public !

Facilitatrice: Chrissie Faniadis, directrice d'EUNIA (Suède)

Participation gratuite mais inscriptions obligatoires (voir ci-dessous).

Programme

09:30 > 13:00

Discours d'ouverture
-> Par des représentants de la Commission européenne, du CIFAS et de IN SITU.

Création artistique et politiques culturelles européennes
La conférence débutera par un aperçu des enjeux actuels des politiques culturelles européennes et de l'imbrication entre création artistique et défis de sociétés.
-> Par Hannes Heide, membre du Parlement européen, membre de la commission de la culture et de l'éducation, ancien maire de Bad Ischl, capitale européenne de la culture en Autriche en 2024.

"Acupunctures artistiques", un dialogue avec la société civile
Que se passe-t-il lorsque neuf artistes explorent neuf villes européennes, avec comme mission de répondre à des questions sociales, culturelles et urbaines locales ? Cette session mettra en lumière trois exemples d'"Acupuncture artistique", un concept expérimental de recherche artistique.
-> Par Herman Bashiron Mendolicchio, chercheur et écrivain (ES), avec Danae Theodoridou, performeuse et chercheuse (GR) & Werner Schrempf, directeur de La Strada Graz (AT), Joanne Leighton, chorégraphe et directrice de la compagnie de danse WLDN (BE/AU) & Kees Lesuis, directeur artistique du festival Oerol (NL), Morten Traavik, réalisateur de films et de théâtre (NW) & Florent Mehmeti, directeur de l'ODA Teatri (KV)

Comment lier art et la durabilité ?
Tandis que de nouvelle préoccupations émergent, remettant en question la relation voire même la responsabilité que l'art devrait avoir dans une évolution vers une société inclusive et respectueuse de l'environnement, où se situent les artistes et les organisateurs? Comment favoriser une approche holistique qui puisse réellement faire la différence?
-> Par Thomas Lamers, dramaturge et philosophe du Collectief Walden (NL)

13:00 > 15:00 - Pause déjeuner

Performance Studio Cité de Benjamin Vandewalle (BE) *
Comment observe-t-on notre environnement et les personnes qui s'y trouvent ? Oserions-nous nous abandonner à de nouvelles perspectives? Venez découvrir Studio Cité, une fête foraine artistique qui vous propose des expériences inattendues sur la Place Bethleem et sur le Parvis de Saint-Gilles.
Place Bethléem - 13h>19h - Jeudi 23 avril 2020
Parvis de Saint Gilles - 13h>19h - Vendredi 24 avril 2020

15:00 > 18:00

Mise en œuvre d'un projet contextuel
La mise en œuvre de projets artistiques sensibles et adaptés à leurs contextes nécessite du temps, une compréhension approfondie du contexte et un partage mutuel. Dans cette session, nous explorerons des exemples de collaborations durables entre artiste, organisateur et contexte.
-> Par Jay Wahl, directeur artistique au Kimmel Center (USA), avec Ambrus Ivanyos, réalisateur de films et de théâtre, co-fondateur du collectif MeetLab (HU) & Fanni Nánay, directrice d'Artopolis Association (HU), Florent Bergal, artiste et co-fondateur du Collectif G. Bistaki (FR) & James Moore, conservateur-producteur du Østfold Internasjonale Teater (NO), Salomé Mooij (NL), créatrice et interprète de théâtre & Trevor Davies, co-directeur du Københavns Internationale Teater (DK)

Le MOOC "Créer dans l'espace public"
Qu'est-ce que l'espace public ? Pourquoi les artistes choisissent-ils de travailler dans des lieux non conventionnels ? Comment utilisent-ils ces espaces à travers le monde ? De nombreuses questions trouvent leur réponse dans les cours en ligne ouverts à tous "Créer dans l'espace public", le premier du genre au niveau européen.
-> Par Jean-Sébastien Steil, directeur de la FAI-AR (France)

Impliquer le public
Comment entrer en contact avec les habitants ? Comment intégrer la réaction du public dans votre processus de création ? Plusieurs artistes d'IN SITU partageront leur façon de travailler, impliquer, intégrer, être en relation avec le public.
-> Par Linda di Pietro, directrice artistique d'Indisciplinarte (IT) avec Floriane Facchini, artiste (IT), Marcelo Sánchez-Camus, praticien créatif (UK), Seth Honnor, directeur artistique de Kaleider (UK)

18:00 > 20:00 - Drink de cloture



* Studio Cité, un projet pilote IN SITU, a reçu une aide à la création du projet ACT, cofinancé par le programme Creative Europe de l'Union européenne. Les coproducteurs sont l'Atelier 231 (FR), le Festival di Terni (IT), le Freedom Festival (UK), La Strada Graz (AT), Lieux publics (FR), Norfolk & Norwich Festival (UK), Østfold Internasjonale Teater (NO), Oerol Festival (NL), Theater op de Markt (BE), UZ Arts (UK).

Informations pratiques

Participation à la conférence gratuite mais inscription obligatoire.

Inscriptions en ligne via le site web de In Situ.

Si vous souhaitez déjeuner à La Tricoterie, veuillez réserver avant le vendredi 10 avril 2020 (l'e-mail de confirmation que vous recevrez après avoir rempli le formulaire d'inscription contiendra le lien pour réserver votre déjeuner).

La conférence est organisée en partenariat avec le CIFAS, avec l'aimable soutien du Kaaiteater.
ACT 2016 - 2020 est cofinancé par le programme "Creative Europe" de l'Union européenne.

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: