La Bellone
Workshop

Artivism -
An introduction to creative resistance strategies and tactics.
With the Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination

The Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (L.I.I) exists somewhere between art and activism, poetry and politics. The L.I.I is in love with utopias, a builder of disobedience machines with bicycles, boats, ants or snowballs, the detonator of an army of clowns around the world, the designer of a global interactive game disobeying climate criminals and the co-constructor of a lighthouse on the site of the control tower at Notre-Dame-des-Landes airport.

Since 2004, it has brought together artists from diverse backgrounds (theatre, design, fine arts, cinema) and equally diverse activists (from grassroots movements to international NGOs) to create new forms of resistance together. The question at the heart of the L.I.I.'s work has always been to know what is the role of art and theatre at times of extreme social and ecological crises?
For us, the answer is not to be found in a new "political art" but in an artistic activism, a poetic politics: we do not want to show the world differently, but to transform it, together, here and now.

During this workshop, the L.I.I. will invite participants to explore the synergies emerging from the fusion of art and activism. Together we will develop strategies and tactics to create new forms of disobedience and creative resistance. Using collaborative games and methods, we will explore the principles for creating powerful actions, both politically and aesthetically.

The workshop will be led by Isabelle Fremeaux and John Jordan.
It will take place on 25 September 2019 from 10:00 to 18:00 at la Bellone - Rue de Flandre, 46 - 1000 Brussels.
The workshop is free of charge.

Isabelle Fremeaux and John Jordan

John Jordan is an activist artist, a kind of "magician of rebellion" according to the daily newspaper Libération and an "extremist from the inside" according to the British police. He was co-director of Platform, a social art group from 1987 to 1995, before working with the direct action collective Reclaim The Streets (1995-2000). In 2003, he co-edited the book We Are Everywhere: The Irresistible Rise Of Global Anti-Capitalism published by Verso. He was professor of Fine Arts for almost ten years (1994-2003), and then left the university world to work on Naomi Klein's film The Take. In 2004, he had the ridiculous idea of founding the Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army, which he deserted a few years later.

Isabelle Fremeaux grew up in France before going on an adventure in London, where she worked as a freelance journalist, French teacher and administrator of a community arts company, while completing a doctoral thesis on the concept of community. She became a lecturer in Media and Cultural Studies at Birkbeck College-University of London (GB) where she practiced for 10 years, before leaving the University to breathe the wind of freedom and collective. Thanks to L.I.I, she has been successively (and sometimes simultaneously) a rebel clown, a pirate, a disobedient cyclist, a utopian... She pursues her action-research that explores popular education and collective dynamics, and lends her skills to various collectives, associations and institutions as a trainer and consultant.

John and Isabelle are the co-authors of the film/book Les Sentiers de l'Utopie (La Découverte, 2011) and now live on the zad of Notre-Dame-des-Landes.

 

Questionnaire

To subscribe to the laboratory:

1/ Dowload the questionnaire opposite to this text and fill it in
2/ Fill in the form below this page and upload your questionnaire
3/ You will receive an automatic confirmation of your subscription

Inscriptions
 
Veuillez remplir le formulaire à télécharger sur cette page.
Files must be less than 2 MB.
Allowed file types: gif jpg jpeg png txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx avi mov mp3.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

La Bellone
Laboratoire

Artivisme -
Une introduction aux stratégies et tactiques de résistance creative.
Avec le Laboratoire d'Imagination Insurrectionnelle.

Amoureux des utopies, constructeur de machines de désobéissance avec des vélos, des bateaux, des fourmis ou des boules de neiges, détonateur d’une armée de clowns à travers le monde, concepteur d’un jeu interactif mondial désobéissant contre les criminels climatiques et co-constructeur d'un phare sur le site de la tour de contrôle de l'aéroport de Notre-Dame-des-Landes, le Laboratoire d'Imagination Insurrectionnelle (L.I.I) se situe quelque part entre art et activisme, poésie et politique.

Depuis 2004, il réunit des artistes d'horizons divers (théâtre, design, beaux-arts, cinéma) et des activistes tout aussi divers (des mouvements grassroots aux ONG internationales) pour créer ensemble de nouvelles formes de résistance. La question au cœur du travail du L.I.I a toujours été de savoir quel est le rôle de l'art et du théâtre en ces temps d'extrêmes crises sociale et écologique ?
Pour nous, la réponse n'est pas dans un nouvel « art politique » mais dans un activisme artistique, une politique poétique : nous ne voulons pas montrer le monde différemment, mais le transformer, ensemble, ici et maintenant.

Lors de cet atelier, le L.I.I invitera les participant·e·s à explorer les synergies émergeant de la fusion entre art et activisme. Nous élaborerons ensemble des stratégies et des tactiques pour créer de nouvelles formes de désobéissance et résistance créatives. En utilisant des jeux et des méthodes collaboratives, nous explorerons les principes permettant de créer des actions puissantes, à la fois politiquement et esthétiquement.

L’atelier sera animé par Isabelle Fremeaux et John Jordan.
Il aura lieu le 25 septembre 2019 de 10:00 à 18:00 à La Bellone - Rue de Flandre, 46 - 1000 Bruxelles.
Participation gratuite mais sur inscription.

John Jordan et Isabelle Fremeaux

John Jordan est artiste activiste, « une sorte de magicien de la rébellion » selon le quotidien Libération et «extrémiste de l'intérieur » selon la police Britannique. Il a été co-directeur de Platform, un groupe d’art social de 1987 à 1995, avant de travailler avec le collectif d’action directe Reclaim The Streets (1995-2000). En 2003, il a co-dirigé le livre We Are Everywhere: The Irresistible Rise of Global Anti-Capitalism [Nous sommes partout. L’irrésistible ascension de l’anticapitalisme mondial] publié par Verso. Professeur aux Beaux Arts pendant presque dix ans (1994-2003), il a quitté le monde universitaire pour travailler sur le film de Naomi Klein The Take. En 2004, il a eu l’idée ridicule de fonder la Clandestine Insurgent Rebel Clown Army [Armée des Clowns] qu'il a désertée quelques années plus tard.

Isabelle Fremeaux a grandi en France avant de partir à l'aventure à Londres, où elle a travaillé comme journaliste free lance, professeur de français et administratrice d'une compagnie de « community arts », tout en réalisant une thèse de doctorat sur le concept de communauté. Elle est devenue Maître de Conférences en Media et Cultural Studies à Birkbeck College-University of London (GB) où elle a exercé pendant 10 ans, avant de déserter l’Université pour respirer le vent de la liberté et du collectif. Grâce au L.I.I, elle a été successivement (et parfois simultanément) clown rebelle, pirate, cycliste désobéissante, utopiste… Elle poursuit une recherche-action qui explore l’éducation populaire et les dynamiques collectives, et prête ses compétences à divers collectifs, associations et institutions en tant que formatrice et consultante.

John et Isabelle sont les co-auteurs du livre-film Les Sentiers de l'Utopie (La Découverte, 2011) et vivent aujourd'hui sur la zad de Notre-Dame-des-Landes.

Questionnaire d'inscription

Pour s'inscrire:
1/ Compléter le questionnaire à télécharger ci-contre.
2/ Compléter le formulaire d'inscription ci-dessous et y joindre le questionnaire complété.
3/ Vous recevrez une confirmation d'inscription automatique.

Inscriptions
 
Veuillez remplir le formulaire à télécharger sur cette page.
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 2 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : gif jpg jpeg png txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx avi mov mp3.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: