13 May 2016 to 20 May 2016
What We Leave Unsaid

As part of Kunstenfestivaldesarts / With the support of La Bellone



In contemporary theater, the message we want to deliver is not necessarily the message said. In other words, the shown or said “things” on the physical stage has to lead the audience to see and hear other “things” on an imaginational stage: A stage beyond the physical stage. This makes us absolutely dependent on audience’s imagination.
 
As an artist living under the censorship condition, I have understood the fact that the “things” that are censored are the ones that are actually said or shown. But how on earth could you challenge the society while every challengeable matter is censored on a certain level? How a work that has to pass censor could deal with the questions that are censored? The point is that censor is just accomplished on the “things” and imagination is something that can’t ever be censored. 
 
In my recent works, I am also focusing on what we leave unsaid in our daily life; plays which are mostly based on the imaginary life, caused by the social and political environment.
 
In my last work, Hearing, where in a female dormitory the presence of men is totally prohibited, a man’s voice is heard. In a situation where “things” are mostly forbidden, the imaginary man’s voice can create a real man in the imaginary world. A report based on an imaginary man’s voice leads up to an unexpected destruction. Hearing is a play built on the possibilities of the physical and imaginational stages.
 
In the upcoming workshop “What we leave unsaid” we are aiming to talk about the imaginational stage that occurs in audience’s mind. How can we build this stage, and moreover how can we absolutely (or almost) be sure that the audience will cooperate with us? To enter audience’s imagination we need to know them well and knowing them requires an understanding of the place and time they are living in.
 
In this workshop, the participants and I will share our own experiences from the time and place we are living in, and communicate without the need of everything being said or shown.
 
Amir Reza Koohestani



Amir Reza Koohestani was born in 1978 in Shiraz, Iran. He was 16 when he began publishing short stories in local newspapers. Attracted to cinema, he took courses in directing and cinematography in 1995 and created two unfinished films. After a brief experience as a performer, he devoted his time to writing his first plays: And The Day Never Came (1999), which was never performed, and The Murmuring Tales(2000), which was critically acclaimed in Tehran at the 18th International Fadjr Theatre Festival. With his third play, Dance On Glasses (2001), which toured for four years, Amir Reza Koohestani gained international fame and was supported by several European theatrical artistic directors and festivals. The plays Recent Experiences (from the original text by the Canadian writers Nadia Ross and Jacob Wren, 2003),Amid The Clouds (2005), Dry Blood & Fresh Vegetables (2007) and Quartet: A Journey North (2008) followed, all of which have been successful in Europe. Amir Reza Koohestani was also commissioned by the Schauspielhaus in Cologne, where he wrote and stagedEinzelzimmer (2006), and by the Nouveau Théâtre de Besançon, with Japanese director Oriza Hirata and French director Sylvain Maurice, creating the play Des Utopies? (2009) which toured France and Japan. After two years studying in Manchester, Amir Reza Koohestani returned to Tehran in July 2009 and created the play Where Were You On January 8th? which has toured Europe, Brazil and Japan. In October 2011, despite finishing his military service, Amir Reza Koohestani created the adaptation of Ivanov by Anton Chekhov, successfully staged in Tehran for several weeks. In February 2012, the film Modest Reception, the script for which was co-written by Koohestani and actor and director Mani Haghighi, won the Netpac Award at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2012. In September 2012, he created the performanceThe Fourth Wall, adapted from the play England by Tim Crouch, which was presented one hundred times in an art gallery in Tehran. In 2013, Festival actoral in Marseille (France) commissioned Koohestani to write and stage a new play, Timeloss. Amir Reza Koohestani is the first director to win two consecutive Best theatre production of the year awards in Iran for Ivanov in 2011 and The Fourth Wall in 2012.
 

http://www.mehrtheatregroup.com/

Illustration
Cifas asks contemporary artists to illustrate its communication. 
Noémie Marsily illustrated the workshop led by Amir Reza Koohestani.


I am born in 1983 in Belgium and since then I scribble, engrave, paint, draw, scrawl and sketch images that often move. I participated in several fanzines and collective books with "Nos Restes" and "L'Employé du Moi". I recently published a comic book, "Fétiche", at Requins Marteaux Editions as well as a children book, "Le Musée de la Moufle", at Sarbacane Editions. I also realise animated short films, as for example "Autour du Lac", with Carl Roosens. 

noemiemarsily.tumblr.com/

150 euros (lunch included)

Applications must be registered online before 27.04.2016 and will include the following items:
- CV
- Motivation letter
Actors, dancers, performers (15 max)
English
La Bellone
46 rue de Flanrde
Bruxelles 1000
Phone: +32 494 30 49 40
13>20.05.2016 - 10:00-18:00

Subscriptions

Inscriptions
 
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf pdf doc docx.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Files must be less than 4 MB.
Allowed file types: txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

13 Mai 2016 > 20 Mai 2016
What We Leave Unsaid

Dans le cadre du Kunstenfestivaldesarts / Avec le soutien de la Bellone



Dans le théâtre contemporain, le message que l'on souhaite faire passer n'est pas nécessairement le message énoncé.  En d'autres termes, les « choses » montrées ou dites sur la scène physique doivent amener le public à voir et entendre d'autres « choses » sur une scène imaginaire : une scène au-delà de la scène physique. Ceci nous rend complètement dépendants de l'imagination du public. 
 
En tant qu'artiste travaillant sous la censure, j'ai compris le fait que les « choses » censurées sont celles qui sont réellement dites ou montrées. Mais comment peut-on mettre au défi la société quand chaque sujet qui pourrait potentiellement être mis au défi est censuré à un certain niveau? Comment un travail qui doit passer cette censure peut-il traiter de questions censurées? Le fait est que la censure est seulement appliquée sur les « choses » et l'imagination est quelque chose qui ne pourra jamais être censuré. 
 
Dans mes travaux récents, je mets aussi l'accent sur ce qui reste non-dit dans notre vie quotidienne; des pièces qui sont le plus souvent basées sur la vie imaginaire, causée par l'environnement politique et social. 
 
Dans mon dernier travail, Hearing, c'est une voix d'homme qui est entendue dans un dortoir féminin où la présence masculine est complètement interdite. Dans une situation dans laquelle les « choses » sont pour la plupart interdites, la voix imaginaire de l'homme peut créer un homme réel dans le monde imaginaire. Un rapport basé sur une voix masculine imaginaire amène une destruction inattendue. Hearing  est une pièce construite sur les possibilités des scènes physiques et imaginaires. 
 
Dans le workshop What We Leave Unsaid, nous serons amenés à parler de la scène imaginaire qui apparait dans la pensée du spectateur. Comment peut-on construire cette scène, et comment peut-on absolument (ou presque) être sûrs que le public collaborera avec nous? Pour entrer dans l'imagination du public, nous avons besoin de bien le connaître, ce qui nécessite une compréhension de l'espace et du temps dans lequel il vit. 
 
Dans ce workshop, les participants et moi-même partagerons nos expériences de l'époque et de l'endroit dans lequel nous vivons, et communiquerons sans avoir besoin de tout dire ou montrer. 
 
Amir Reza Koohestani



Né en 1978 à Chiraz (Iran), Amir Reza Koohestani publie dès l’âge de 16 ans des nouvelles dans les journaux de sa ville natale. Attiré par le cinéma, il suit des cours de réalisation et de prise de vue. Pendant un temps, il joue aux côtés des membres du Mehr Theatre Group avant de se consacrer à l’écriture de ses premières pièces : And The Day Never Came (1999), jamais présentée, et The Murmuring Tales (2000). AvecDance On Glasses (2001), sa troisième pièce, en tournée pendant 4 ans, il acquiert une notoriété internationale. Suivent alors les piècesRecent Experiences (adaptation de la pièce des auteurs canadiens Nadia Ross et Jacob Wren, 2003) ; Amid The Clouds (2005) ; Dry Blood & Fresh Vegetables (2007) et Quartet: A Journey North (2007), toutes accueillies avec succès en Europe. Koohestani répond également aux commandes du Schauspielhaus à Cologne avec Einzelzimmer (2006), et du Nouveau Théâtre de Besançon en participant, avec les metteurs en scène Sylvain Maurice et Oriza Hirata, à la pièce Des Utopies ? (2009) présentée en France et au Japon. Après deux années d’études à Manchester, il retourne à Téhéran en juillet 2009 et crée Where Were You On January 8th? En octobre 2011, malgré son service militaire, il créé Ivanov, une adaptation de la pièce d’Anton Tchekhov, présentée avec succès à Téhéran pendant plusieurs semaines. En février 2012, le film Modest Reception, dont il co-signe le scénario avec Mani Haghighi – acteur et réalisateur –, remporte le Netpac Award au Festival International du Film de Berlin 2012. En septembre 2012, il crée la pièce The Fourth Wall, adaptation de la pièce originale England de Tim Crouch, présentée 100 fois dans une galerie d’art à Téhéran. En 2013, le Festival actoral à Marseille lui commande l’écriture d’une nouvelle pièce, Timeloss. Amir Reza Koohestani est le premier metteur en scène à remporter deux fois de suite le prix de la “Meilleure pièce de l’année” en Iran (Ivanov, 2011 and The Fourth Wall, 2012).

http://www.mehrtheatregroup.com/

Illustration

Cifas fait appel à des dessinateurs pour illustrer sa communication. Noémie Marsily a illustré le workshop mené par Amir Reza Koohestani


Je suis née en 1983 en Belgique, et depuis j’y gribouille, grave, peins, dessine, griffonne des images qui bougent souvent. J'ai participé à de nombreux fanzines et livres collectifs chez Nos Restes et l'Employé du Moi. J'ai publié récemment une BD, "Fétiche"  aux Requins Marteaux, ainsi qu'un livre pour enfants, "le musée de la moufle", chez Sarbacane. Je réalise également des courts métrages d'animation, dont "Autour du lac", avec Carl Roosens.
 

noemiemarsily.tumblr.com/

150 euros (déjeuner compris)

Les candidatures doivent être enregistrées pour le 27.04.2016 au plus tard et comporteront les éléments suivants:
- CV
- Lettre de motivation
Participants: Acteurs, danseurs, performeurs (max 15)
anglais
La Bellone
46 rue de Flanrde
Bruxelles 1000
Phone: +32 494 30 49 40
13>20.05.2016 - 10:00-18:00

Subscriptions

Inscriptions
 
CV obligatoire pour l'inscription au workshop mené par L'Amicale de Production. Vous ne devez pas envoyer votre CV pour l'inscription à SIGNAL.
Lettre de motivation obligatoire pour l'inscription au workshop mené par L'Amicale de Production. Vous ne devez pas envoyer votre lettre de motivation pour l'inscription à SIGNAL.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: